WDYWTBWYGU?

giphy-1.gifI often hear from students, friends, and colleagues of all ages that they have no idea what they want to do with their lives. This isn’t on occasion, rather, more often than not someone is in relative agony over what their purpose is in life. While I by no means have the perfect answer to what my dream job might be, I can tell you that the answer to that question, just like everything in my life, has changed significantly as I have grown into who I am and I hope that it will change as I grow into who I will be.

We are dynamic creatures. Our passions and interests change as we change. We find new challenges to overcome, we travel, we meet new people who change our perspectives and we fall in love with new ideas or recognize talents we never knew we had. The idea that we would find one singular job to fulfill us over our lifetime not only sounds boring, it doesn’t make sense.

The term “dream job” makes me cringe. It is always something we are seeking, rarely something we are doing and it never seems attainable or available. I say, screw it.

Make your life’s purpose dynamic. Throw your “dream job” away and remember that there are plenty of amazing career paths that will fulfill you, teach you and inspire you. Stay open-minded as you explore the options before you at each stage of your career development and enjoy the ride!

Written By: SK Parker, Career Advisor
*Image from Nik Daum’s “I don’t know what I’m doing” talk. 
Leave a Reply

