Senior Reflections: Alyson Fraser

It has been an exciting four years for me at the University of Richmond. I can’t believe that in a few weeks I will be walking across the stage to get my diploma. In the midst of these hectic past few weeks, I have taken some time to reflect on my time here and I have learned a few things that I would like to share with you!

1. Take risks! Most people will tell you that I’m not the biggest risk taker, so I definitely understand how hard it is to step out of your comfort zone. That being said, I have taken a couple of big risks during my time here and they have all turned out great. From deciding to make a commitment to be a Young Life leader at a local high school, to applying to the Jepson School of Leadership Studies, to working in Ghana for a summer, all of these risks have taught me so much. I find that we grow the most when we are in challenging situations, not when we continue to stay where we are comfortable. It’s better to take a risk or two and learn some lessons than to miss out on great experiences.

2. Talk to your professors! People have told me this for the past four years but I don’t think I really made an effort until this year. Writing a senior thesis has really shown me how much professors care and want to help. Besides my thesis advisor, at least three other professors have gone out of their way to provide me with resources and help me with my research. Through this I have also learned that a lot of my professors genuinely care about what is going on in my life. At first it feels a little strange to get to know your teachers outside of the classroom but building relationships with them definitely helps you to feel more supported. I have a lot of friends who regret not getting to know their professors. It’s not only so that you can walk away with a good reference, talking to your professors will improve your time here as well.

3. Enjoy every minute of your time here! Yes, going to the University of Richmond can be tough sometimes. There are positives and negatives about any school you would attend, so I think the best move is to make the best of it! Don’t spend your time wishing you were somewhere else then get to your senior year and wish you had made better use of your time. Richmond has so much to offer and four years will go by much faster than you think!

I have had a great time at the University of Richmond and I know that I will be leaving with lifelong friends, mentors, and memories. While I am sad to be leaving such a great school, I am excited for what my future holds. I will be working at a charter school next year and I know that my experience at the University of Richmond has prepared me well for this opportunity as well as any other opportunity that comes my way.

blog41

Leave a Reply

