How to Make the Most of your College Experience

I can’t believe it’s been almost four years since the day I first arrived on the University of Richmond campus. I’ve learned and experienced many things along the way that will help me in the real world.  One of the most important lessons for me was to take advantage of all the resources and opportunities that are accessible to students on this campus. Here are some useful tips on how to make the most of your time here:

1. People are here to help you! From Career Services, to counseling at CAPS, to the Academic Skills Center, there are a lot of dedicated people who want to help you succeed. We all hear about these services during orientation, but few students actually take full advantage of everything. No matter what you need help with, it is almost guaranteed that there is someone on campus who is able to help you. Why struggle through the internship or job search process, tough classes, and stressful semesters on your own?

2. Don’t get stuck in the UR Bubble! Many people often call the school the “Richmond Bubble” because it is so easy to forget about everything that is going on outside of this campus. Sometimes that can be nice, but it also limits your overall undergraduate experience. Most of my favorite memories and growing experience during these past four years haven’t happened on the campus at all! Spending time volunteering, or going to shows downtown, and studying abroad have greatly enriched my time here. The campus is great, but there is much more happening in the area and around the world and now is the time to explore that as well. Check out RVA News, a great resource that will keep you updated with what is happening in the community.

3. Make new friends! This may seem like common sense, but a lot of people make friends freshman year and don’t branch out during the rest of their time here. Don’t get me wrong, some of my closest friends are girls I lived with freshman year. Since then, I have also met many more wonderful people and built some great friendships just by talking to the people in my classes, joining clubs, and trying new things. You can learn so much from other people and their life experiences and college is a great place to get to know many different people.

These are just a few things I have learned during my time here that have enhanced my four years at Richmond. Have any tips of your own? Share your tips in our Comments section!

Leave a Reply

