Last Semester, Senior Year: My Game Plan

It is my last semester here at University of Richmond and I am determined to make the most of it. Here is my game plan:  this semester, I will go above and beyond! Last semester in college is not the time to do the minimum, especially when it comes to finding a job and preparing for life after college.  Here are some examples of what I will do in the next few months. Have you made a game plan?

1. Take advantage of Career Services: I have met with career advisors in Career Services a few times for internship guidance and attended various events.  This semester I plan to take full advantage of everything the office has to offer. From meeting with career advisors, to attending career expos, to attending informational sessions, I will be doing it all. Whether you are a second semester senior or a second semester first-year, visiting Career Services and attending their events can only help! As I narrow in on what I want to do post-graduation, I know all this will help me to achieve my goals.

2. Explore my options: I am considering staying in Richmond after I graduate so this semester I will be visiting and exploring organizations that I am interested in working with. I will most likely be doing non-profit work so I have signed up to volunteer at some of the places I am considering. Now this may seem to be doing more than necessary but, once again, it can’t hurt! Sometimes a website doesn’t give you all the information you need before making a decision about an internship or place of employment. So the best way to get a good picture of what an organization is like would be to see for yourself! If it’s not possible for you to do that, the next best thing would be to talk to people who work there. A lot of places may seem great on paper but may be much different once you begin working there.

3. Build relationships: Since this is my last semester I am determined to spend as much time as possible with the people I have met here. Not only with my close friends, but also with people who I haven’t had the time to connect with. You never really know who you will be able to see again after graduation so I don’t want the opportunity to spend time with so many amazing people to pass me by.

To my fellow seniors, don’t let these last couple of months just fly by. Make the most of the time you have left here! To everyone else, it’s never too early to go above and beyond.

Written by: Alyson Fraser

Leave a Reply

