Senior Year? Here Are MY Motivators

DSCF1568

The first two weeks of school have gone by, yet it is still hard for me to believe that I am finally a senior!  Like many seniors experience , this final year at UR comes with a mix of emotions. Excitement that we have finally made it, mixed with concerns about the future. Similarly to high school, there is always that threat of “senioritis” where you just don’t feel like doing any work at all. For most of us however, senioritis is not a luxury we can afford. With our college careers coming to a close and the working world or graduate school fast approaching, it is important to find ways to keep ourselves motivated and finish our undergraduate careers strong. Here are a few things that motivate me as a senior:

  1. What’s Ahead: While my future after graduation is often a source of fear, it is also a source of motivation and excitement. As much as I would like to take it easy these last two semesters, I know that the harder I work now the more doors it will open for the future. Also, just thinking about all of the options I will have after graduating gives me something to look forward to. This motivates me to push through all of the hard work in order to get to experience what I have been working so hard for.

  2. Last Chance to Experience UR and RVA: The fact that this is my last year at UR, and possibly my last year in Richmond, motivates me to make the most of it! There are so many opportunities to take advantage of here: on campus and off campus. Knowing that this may be my last chance to take advantage of these opportunities motivates me to be involved.

  3. That Diploma! Being so close to getting my degree motivates me as well. During the tough times when I have a lot of work or I’m really stressed, I remember how much work I had to do to get to where I am. Thinking about how close I am to finally getting a degree and how much work has gone into it motivates me to keep going.

Finding the motivation to get things done can be difficult at times. But as a senior, thinking about all that is ahead, it is surprisingly easy to stay motivated! All these positive things keep me on track – and I hope it will do the same for you!

Leave a Reply

